Creative Scrapbooker Magazine: A Closer Look- Watercolour

Today I thought we would take A Closer Look at my Watercolour layout that appears in the Summer Issue of Creative Scrapbooker Magazine that is on shelves now!! Be sure to grab your copy for loads of creative inspiration for all sorts of papercrafting styles!

cs_logo_banner

I did a little trial and error while trying to create this one. I knew what I wanted it to look like in my head, but finding the products that worked best to make that happen….took a couple of tries!

Here is the completed layout that I came up with.

Watercolour

 

I started with a sheet of watercolour paper that I cut down to 11×11. Then freehanded, I used DecoArt’s Liquid Glass to draw my large floral design. Then it’s important to let this dry completely. I ended up leaving mine overnight to be sure.

I tried creating this using regular old white school glue. However, when it dried, it didn’t keep the dimension that I wanted it to. Then lines flattened right out. So that’s when I ‘brought out the big guns’, and grabbed my Liquid Glass.

Once completely dry, I began to add colour using some cheapy liquid watercolour paints. First I flooded each section with water, then added as much or as little colour as I wanted. On the inside of my flower I started darker, and then got lighter as I expanded out. Any colour that I got on my Liquid Glass I was able to wipe right off.

I knew before I started where my photo was going to go…that’s why there is a big chunk of my flower missing on the right hand side 🙂

I let the watercolour dry completely before doing anything else.

 

I ended up double matting the watercolour paper in coordinating colours of cardstock. I also triple matted my photo in coordinating colours of cardstock.

I added a pretty bow using May Arts Ribbon’s 1.5″ Green Silk ribbon, and let the tails fall under the matted photo.

 

I used sticker letters from past Simple Stories collections to create my title.

IMG_5251

 

Thanks for stopping by to check out my Closer Look at my Watercolour layout for Creative Scrapbooker Magazine. Stay tuned for more creations from the Summer 2016 Issue.

Leave a Reply

